Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, noob here.

I have a 78 cx500, I was looking for a cheap running bike and found one.

It is difficult to start, it coughs and sputters for a 30 seconds or so before you can ease the choke off.

One it is idling well, It seems to hit a rev limiter at about 6k rpm. It is very consistant. It has given me as high as 9k rpm, sometimes no more than 4800 rpm, but the condition is identical when attempted within a short time period. Sometimes I can get a few hundred rpm extra by altering the throttle application, but it always feels like it runs into a celing, at a very specific point.

I have checked the cdi as shown in the factory service manual, many circuits have no continuity at all. I figured if the cdi had failed this badly, the engine would not run at all.

I see cdi units seem to be a problem on these, judging by the price of used units. I was wondering if this is a common symptom with a common fix. I am really looking forward to riding this spring and would love to go faster than 55 mph.

Thanks,

Bob

·
Registered
4,104 Posts
Bob

Forget the CDI test unless you have the meters used in the manual

CDIs tend to work or not work anyway, partial failures are uncommon.

You'll find most money will be on a bad stator with those symptoms

so do (and note) the stator resistance tests first.

A shorthand test is to measure the open circuit resistance of the blue and white wires from the stator.

(the usual suspects)

White to ground should be 370 to 480 ohms (ish)

blue to white should be 77 to 91 (ish)

If you get figures way out of the above ranges then its probably a failing stator

BTW

Where you at?

·
Registered
2,601 Posts
By all means test the stator first, but this could also be one of those carb &/or fuel starvation problems.

·
Registered
3,516 Posts
I'd bet on the stator.