Honda CX 500 Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
In about three weeks I am planning on taking the Silverwing on my first extended bike tour! Virginia to Arkansas up through Missouri and back! Some of you probably know this bike from the previous owner as I bought it from Spacetiger! The bike has been and is a absolute dream! What a incredible machine and his upgrades were and are spot on! It did acquire the squeak from hell about a month ago so I went ahead and tore her down and put fresh moly 60 on all the suspension bushings! Job was not nearly as bad as some of the posts made it out to be! She sure is smooth now! I am new to GL ownership and would appreciate any input on things I should check before such a long trip. Bike is running outstanding and it feels like I should have no problems. I will keep posting about the trip once I get out on the road!

·
Registered
395 Posts
Check tire pressures, coolant and oil levels every morning, and enjoy the trip.

I would take along a spare headlight bulb and some spare fuses just in case but I'll bet you never need them.

I've got a pint of oil and one of coolant that have nearly as many miles on them as the bike itself. Only needed to add oil once in all my travels and never coolant.

But best to have them and never need them instead of the opposite.

Sam Bateman

·
Super Moderator
15,416 Posts
Have you switched over to a main blade fuse? The honda ones are hard to find on the road when a simple blade fuse holder can be wired up and found everywhere.

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Good luck and have fun man I'll be doing a 2000 mile journey here in about two week from Indiana to Arizona! Be safe!