Honda CX 500 Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
So I’ve been working on restoring this bike for a couple years and I’m in the midst of figuring out the wiring right now.

Since I bought the bike (and it ran) it has been blowing the fuses for the tail/meter. Only thing I can find modified is where there is an add-a-splice on the brown/white meter light wire which goes to nothing, and another add-a-splice on the black wire coming from the regulator under the gauges with a short wiring coming from it but not attached to anything.

Had a friend “helping” and we laid a piece of tinfoil across the fuse slot and found that the brown/white meter light wire gets hot. Only problem is now I keep blowing my main fuse by the battery, which wasn’t a problem before.

So to sum it up, now I keep blowing my main fuse and the tail/meter blown fuse is still an issue.

I do have a multimeter now if it would help me at all. I have minimal experience with wiring but could use some help if anybody knows where to start?

·
Registered
1982 cx500tc turbo
69 Posts
Well first of the fuse is there to protect
Using tinfoil is not a good thing to do
So now you know where the problem is. Disconnect the wire and see what happens
the wire that got hot is the problem most like
Not the best way to find a short to ground

TLD

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Lol yes I know that, I was getting frustrated, and there may have been alcohol involved. I guess my bigger concern is why is my main fuse blowing now?

·
Registered
1982 cx500tc turbo
69 Posts
The old liquid for of wisdom LOL
start removing all the fuses
(You might have caused more damage then just the one wire)
Replace the main fuse and see what happens
start to install one fuse at the time
This way it might single out where or what circuit the short is in
Good Luck

TLD

Reactions: bear_claw_91

·
Super Moderator
4,405 Posts