Honda CX 500 Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just recently picked up this bike so I'm pretty new to it and it consistently runs hot with the gauge reading in the middle of the thicker line when the temperature outside is 70+. I've tested the 7 volt regulator and I'm getting 7.3 volts on the green wire and have also replaced the thermostat and that made no change. Any help or ideas would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
399 Posts
Can you access a IR temp thermometer?? this will give you an indicator.
When was coolant replaced? when was the radiator last flushed?
The 7v regulator may be fine but the gauge itself isn't all that accurate by design......
I had worrying temp readings but no signs of overheating ...so I added a Daytona Aquaprova gauge on the handlebars 2 years ago and left those variable readings behind-sits at 70-80c now even days of 40 degree Celsius outside temp (110F)

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The coolant was recently change and I let it run for 15 minutes with the cap off the get the air out of the system. I dont have an IR thermometer but I can probably find a friend that has one I can use.

·
Registered
399 Posts
The coolant was recently change and I let it run for 15 minutes with the cap off the get the air out of the system. I dont have an IR thermometer but I can probably find a friend that has one I can use.
The IR thermometer is useful because there is a few possibilities-1. the gauge is reading falsely high and not representing whats happening...or .2. the gauge is accurate and other issues-e.g. partially blocked radiator etc....
Does the gauge fluctuate at all or is it fairly stable?

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #5