Honda CX 500 Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This thread is long overdue. First off, I need give a huge shout out to all of you on this forum. Without the collective wisdom of those here, my build would not have been possible. A little about me...I live in Ottawa Canada, and have been a shade tree mechanic all my life. My primary passions have been large keelboat sailing, and wrenching on vintage British sports cars. In the last few years I've started to build/rebuild motorcycles as well. I started out by chopping the heck out of a 1998 Honda Shadow VT750 and turning it into a bobber. Then, I decided that my wife and little dog might enjoy a sidecar rig, so I added a heavily customized sidecar to the bobber. I've been working on my CX500 build on and off for about 15 months. It came to me literally in pieces (and many pieces of the jigsaw were missing). I paid a whopping $500 CDN dollars for everything that was to be my starting point. The costs ballooned from there...more on this later. I know many of you are incredibly disciplined about updating your build thread as you go through the build. I'm simply not that organized, and frankly would rather spend my time wrenching, than being on a computer updating a forum thread. That said I did take plenty of photos along the way, and always intended to write up this build at a later date.....so let's begin. first images are of my only previous build the Honda Shadow VT750 bobber plus sidecar.
Before:

After:

Out for a ride with my buddy:

I heavily customized a production Sidecar rig and mated it to the bobber for a time:

This was my new-to-me 1980 CX500 as purchased:

And the "Piece De Resistance" a new set of Murrays Carbs included. These alone were worth the purchase price of $500:

END PART 1

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
PART 2 FRAME CHOP AND WELD